

# 2023 Michael H. Bruno Award

Presented by the Technical Association of the Graphic Arts

PRINTINGUNITED

### **Previous Honorees**

2022

Ray Cheydleur

2021

no recipient

2020

Gary Jones Laura Lawton

2019

Dr. Don P. Duncan Juanita M. Parris Mike Scrutton

2018

Dr. Mark FJ Bohan

2017

Lawrence Warter

2016

Tony Bean Paul Cousineau

2015

Guy Gecht Frank Romano Erwin Widmer

2014

Sam Ingram Yoshiharu Komori George Ryan

2013

Anthony Stanton

2012

James C. King John E. Warnock

2011

Richard Goodman

2010

Bernard Pineaux

2009

Patrice J. Mangin

2008

Tim C. Claypole

2007

Bruce Blom

2006

Robert Chung

2005

Helene Juhola

2004

Harvey Levenson

2003

Nils Enlund

2002

Takashi Numakura

2001

Ing Helmut Kipphan Irving Pobboravsky William Ray

2000

Mitsuo Kaji

1999

Joel Rubin Walter Zawacki

1998

Jacqueline Fetsko Franz Sigg

1997

Edward Granger Raymond Prince

1996

Gary Field David McDowell 1995 – Orlando

Eiichi Inoue Patrice Dunn

1995 – Paris Anthony Johnson

1994

Kurt Schlapfer

1993

Paul Borth Ing Uwe Gast

1992

Richard Fisch Milton Pearson

1991

Sven Ahrenkilde Brian Chapman Charles Rinehart

1990

Robert Downie Thomas Fadner Tapio Lehtonen

1989

H. Brent Archer S. Thomas Dunn

1988

James Cox Philip Evanoff Lawrence Wilson

1987

Werner Gerlach Warren Rhodes Kenneth West

1986

John MacPhee J. Tom Morgan, Jr. Miles Southworth 1985

Jean Chevalier Emilio Gerboni Simo Karttunen Bryan Sunderland

1984

Robert Bassemir Kurt Pfahl

1983

William Schreiber William Somerville

1982

Gordon Johnson Herbert Phillips

1981

John Crosfield George Jorgensen

1980

William Schaeffer Philip Tobias

1979

Harvey George Richard Maurer John McMaster

1978

Bernard Halpern Francis Wurzberg, Jr.

1977

Albert Materazzi Robert Rossell Earl Sundeen William Walker

1976

Michael Bruno Paul Hartsuch Frank Preucil John Yule 2023 Michael H. Bruno Award Presented by the Technical Association of the Graphic Arts, March 14, 2023 Awarded to David Niles

Michael H. Bruno TAGA Award For Outstanding Contributions to the Graphic Arts Industry

The Technical Association of the Graphic Arts is an international organization of technologists, scientists, technical, and production personnel in the printing and allied industries, as well as students in accredited graphic arts programs. It was established in 1948 as a forum for reporting on new research and technology in the graphic arts. It has a long history of distinguished annual conferences at which technical papers on graphic arts subjects are presented. The annual volumes of TAGA Proceedings are the published records of these papers by leading technical and scientific men and women who have contributed immeasurably to the progress of printing technology and graphic science throughout the world.

The Advisory Committee of TAGA hereby recognizes a professional with a distinguished career to receive the TAGA Michael H. Bruno Award in appreciation of his dedicated service and contributions to the advancement of graphic arts internationally.

As evidence of this honor, the awardee will receive the Michael H. Bruno Award. This award is named for the late Michael H. Bruno. Printing was his vocation for his entire working life. He was a kind and gentle man who was passionate about printing nd the people who produced it. In his own words, "I had the good fortune to be where the action

was during the most active period since printing was invented."
We, in turn, were very fortunate to know Michael. Everyone who knew him or knew of him respected him and his incredible knowledge of the industry. What a wonderful legacy to leave for the world.

Presented here is a summary of the accomplishments of this year's distinguished recipient of the Michael H. Bruno Award.



David Niles Senior Print and Converting Scientist Sappi North America

David Niles is a Senior Print and Converting Scientist at Sappi North America, and is considered an expert in conventional printing technology, digital printing technology, packaging converting technology, and the impact paper and paper board has on each.

Responsibilities include product evaluation and determining fitness for use for Sappi products. Mr. Niles works closely with Manufacturing, R&D, Marketing, and Sales as products move from grade development through commercialization to ensure robust product designs. Mr. Niles also manages and supports products in the field through the company's technical service efforts. Recently Mr. Niles has developed relationships with key customers and partner converters to understand product performance and uncover new opportunities for existing grades

in specialty and packaging applications.

Mr. Niles graduated from the State University of New York, College of Environmental; Science & Forestry with a B.S. in Paper Science & Engineering. He was hired into the S.D Warren/Sappi +spent time in the company's Westbrook paper mill as a Process Engineer. Following that assignment his career in Graphic Arts started by working in the Graphic Arts Research group, Mr. Niles has held multiple positions within that group over the years. During this time, he was able to participate in a number of committees and board of directors' positions within the Graphic Arts community with the goal of helping the industry improve quality, efficiencies, and profitability.

Mr. Niles has served on the following Board of Directors, Technical Association of Graphic Arts and was President of TAGA from 2016-2017, Printing Industries of America, and Printing Industries of New England.

Mr. Niles served on the following industry committees; Printing Industries of America Research Advisory Committee and Supplier Advisory Committee, Committee of Graphic Arts Technical Standards, Specification for Web Offset Printing Technical Committee, Idealliances's Print Properties Committee, and the Guidelines and Recommendation for Commercial Offset Lithography Technical Committee.

He has delivered a number of presentations at industry Technical Conferences , and has been coauthor of two research papers published through the Technical Association of the Pulp and Paper Industry.

## **TAGA Advisory Committee Officers**

#### **President**

Dr. Mark FJ Bohan

#### **Executive Vice President**

Birgit Plautz

#### Vice President of Papers

Hart Swisher

#### Vice President of Education

Dr. Ruoxi "Rachel" Ma

#### **Immediate Past President**

Wandee Poolpol

#### **Committee Members**

Dr. John Anderson

Udi Arieli

David Biro

**Dave Brewer** 

Anthony Carignano

Nick Gawreluk

Dr. Martin Habekost

Dr. Volker Jansen

DJ Montalto

Bruce Leigh Myers, Ph.D.

**David Niles** 

Fabian Ruiz

John Seymour

Dr. Charles Weiss



