

Michael H. Bruno



Presented at the 70th Annual Technical Conference of the Technical Association of the Graphic Arts

> Baltimore, Maryland, USA March 20, 2018



Michael H. Brund G

SOCIATION OF THE APHIC ARTS

Michael H. Bruno TAGA Award For **Outstanding Contributions to** the **Graphic Arts Industry**

The Technical Association of the Graphic Arts is an international organization of technologists, scientists, technical and production personnel in the printing and allied industries, and students in accredited graphic arts programs. It was established in 1948 as a forum for reporting on new research and technology in the graphic arts. It has a long history of distinguished annual conferences at which technical papers on graphic arts subjects are presented. The annual volumes of TAGA Proceedings are the published records of these papers by leading technical and scientific men and women who have contributed measurably TAGA to the progress of printing technology and graphic science throughout the world.

The Board of Directors of TAGA hereby recognizes a professional with a distinguished career to receive the 2018 TAGA Michael

H. Bruno Award in appreciation of his dedicated service and contributions to the advancement of graphic arts internationally.

As evidence of this honor, the awardee will receive the Michael H. Bruno Award. This award is named for the late Michael H. Bruno. Printing was his vocation for his entire working life. He was a kind and gentle man who was passionate about printing and the people who produced it. In his own words, "I had the good fortune to be where the action was during the most active period since printing was invented." We, in turn, were very fortunate to know Mike. Everyone who knew him or knew of him respected him and his incredible knowledge of the industry. What a wonderful legacy to leave for the world.

Presented here is a summary of the accomplishments of this year's distinguished recipient of the Michael H. Bruno Award.



Michael H. Bruno

2018 Bruno Award Recipient: Dr. Mark F.J. Bohan

Dr. Mark F.J. Bohan is currently Director, Prinect & CtP with Heidelberg USA. In his role, he operates as the business driver for Prinect workflow, Heidelberg's fully featured Business Intelligence Platform touching all parts of the business and production activities. He joined Heidelberg in 2015, working initially as a consultant and on special projects prior to taking his current role.



An expert and evangelist on print manufacturing and new technologies impacting the industry, Mark currently serves on the Board of Directors for TAGA. He previously served for 6 years on the Board of Directors of CIP4 as Marketing and then Membership Officer, while representing printer interests for 8 years as a member of the CIP4 Advisory Board. For over 20 years Mark has been involved with the development of graphic arts ISO standards and is a U.S. expert on ISO TC130. He participates in PPC, GWG, CGATS, and USTAG and has served as director for The Color Group (GB).

Mark started his career at University of Wales, Swansea, graduating with a degree in Mechanical Engineering, complemented by a PhD on "Sizing of irregularly shaped particles by laser based techniques." He followed this by 12 years of research, investigating printing and coating processes from a manufacturing perspective as the first researcher in the group that became the Welsh Centre for Printing and Coating. He carried out R&D in offset, gravure, flexography, screen printing, and paper manufacturing, while also developing new source code models for soft EHL using Finite Element and Boundary Element modelling. Additionally, Mark has



been instrumental in the development of new graduate and undergraduate programs in printing.

He moved to the U.S. in 2004 to take up a role at PIA/GATF, serving as Vice President, Technology and Research for 9 years. In this role, he was responsible for research, production, EHS, and consulting. During this time, he worked on developing new technical programs for the association and creating new revenue streams to support industry-wide research. He created and administered the CIP4 JDF certification program while at PIA/GATF. He was involved with the planning and moderation of over 30 conferences and served on multiple committees representing the interests of the printing industry.

Mark's research has resulted in 106 publications, 247 invited lectures, 85 press articles, and successful collaborations with over 500 companies. In July 2010, he was recognized by the U.S. government as an alien of extraordinary ability for activities in graphic communications and awarded a Green Card on that basis.

Mark's TAGA involvement started in 1995 with his first paper on "The application of Taguchi methods to the study of ink transfer in heat set web offset printing." This has been followed by 46 papers on a wide variety of different processes and topics collaborating with 30 co-authors. He took over the role of Managing Director in 2006 and guided TAGA for the next 9 years. He joined the Board for the first time in 2016 and is a strong advocate for research, continued education, and networking at TAGA, where he has made lasting friendships with people globally.



Michael H. Bruno

Previous Honorees

2017 Lawrence Warter

2016 Tony Bean Paul Cousineau

2015 Guy Gecht Frank Romano Erwin Widmer

2014 Sam Ingram Yoshiharu Komori George Ryan

2013 Anthony Stanton

2012 James C. King John E. Warnock

2011 Richard Goodman

2010 Bernard Pineaux

2009 Patrice J. Mangin

2008 Tim C. Claypole

2007 Bruce Blom

2006 Robert Chung

2005 Helene Juhola

2004 Harvey Levenson

2003 Nils Enlund

2002 Takashi Numakura

2001 Ing Helmut Kipphan Irving Pobboravsky William Ray **2000** Mitsuo Kaji

1999 Joel Rubin Walter Zawacki

1998 Jacqueline Fetsko Franz Sigg

1997 Edward Granger Raymond Prince

1996 Gary Field David McDowell

1995 – Orlando Eiichi Inoue Patrice Dunn

1995 – Paris Anthony Johnson

1994 Kurt Schlapfer

1993 Paul Borth Ing Uwe Gast

1992 Richard Fisch Milton Pearson

1991 Sven Ahrenkilde Brian Chapman Charles Rinehart

1990 Robert Downie Thomas Fadner Tapio Lehtonen

1989 H. Brent Archer S. Thomas Dunn

1988 James Cox Philip Evanoff Lawrence Wilson **1987** Werner Gerlach Warren Rhodes Kenneth West

1986 John MacPhee J. Tom Morgan, Jr. Miles Southworth

1985 Jean Chevalier Emilio Gerboni Simo Karttunen Bryan Sunderland

1984 Robert Bassemir Kurt Pfahl

1983 William Schreiber William Somerville

1982 Gordon Johnson Herbert Phillips

1981 John Crosfield George Jorgensen

1980 William Schaeffer Philip Tobias

1979 Harvey George Richard Maurer John McMaster

1978 Bernard Halpern Francis Wurzberg, Jr.

1977 Albert Materazzi Robert Rossell Earl Sundeen William Walker

1976 Michael Bruno Paul Hartsuch Frank Preucil John Yule





President Dr. Liam O'Hara

Executive Vice President Wandee Poolpol

Vice President, Technical Papers John Seymour

Vice President, Marketing Dawn Nye

Vice President, Membership Dr. Mark Bohan

Vice President, Education Bruce Leigh Myers, Ph.D.

Immediate Past President David Niles

Board of Directors

Udi Arieli Paul Cousineau Martin Delp Dr. Martin Habekost DJ Montalto Brenda Pang Birgit Plautz Michael Riebesehl Don Schroeder Hart Swisher Chris Swita Dr. Yu-Ju (Mandy) Wu

Staff

Managing Director Jim Workman

Conference Assistant Mike Packard

Administrator John Bodnar

Technical Association of the Graphic Arts

301 Brush Creek Road • Warrendale, PA 15086 USA Telephone: 412-259-1706 • Fax: 412-259-1765 www.taga.org